Addressing Irregular Migration Flows in Southern Africa (Phase VI)

Project Title Addressing Irregular Migration Flows in Southern Africa (Phase VI)
Project Period 1 October 2015 - 30 September 2016
Geographical Coverage Countries in the SADC region, particularly Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe
Beneficiaries Governments in the SADC region, government officials, local governance and traditional leaders, faith-based and civil-society organizations, vulnerable male and female migrants, including stranded and smuggled migrants, unaccompanied minors, victims of trafficking.
Partners Ministry of Home Affairs
Budget EUR 498,528

Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration

Project Description

The project’s objective is to support governments in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region to manage migration in a humane and orderly manner, with a specific focus on upholding the rights of vulnerable migrants. Southern Africa comprises source, destination, and transit countries for irregular migrants, asylum seekers, undocumented labor migrants, unaccompanied migrant children (UMC), and victims of trafficking, among others. Following the successful implementation of previous project phases, the International Organization for Migration (IOM) and governments in the six target countries—Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe—will continue to protect and assist vulnerable migrants with special attention paid to unaccompanied migrant children. Irregular migrants—the majority of whom are seeking asylum or employment opportunities within the region—become vulnerable at various stages of the migration process. It is not uncommon for migrants, particularly UMCs, to migrate without documentation or without the means to continue the journey.  This vulnerability has a direct impact on the welfare of the migrant but also has long-term implications for host governments and communities.

Building on achievements from the previous six phases of the project and in response to the needs of vulnerable migrants and governments identified in the SADC region, IOM is seeking support to continue activities in five critical areas: (1) facilitated regional dialogue; (2) capacity-building; (3) direct assistance to vulnerable migrants, including through the provision of assisted voluntary return (AVR); (4) the provision of assistance to UMCs; and (5) Emergency Migration Management. During phase VII, IOM will continue to incorporate elements of UMC protection throughout all project components.

In particular, through its continuing support to the regional consultative process, the Migration Dialogue for Southern Africa (MIDSA), IOM will further strengthen cooperation between member states in the SADC region and support the development and implementation of evidence-based migration management and protection frameworks. IOM will also continue to build the capacity of government officials and service providers in Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia, and Zimbabwe, through the development and delivery of targeted training on assistance to vulnerable migrants within irregular and mixed migration flows, identification and referral assistance, and the provision of migrant-friendly services. This will be complemented by targeted support to capacity building activities implemented by the Government of South Africa. IOM will continue to address the needs of vulnerable migrants through its AVR program, which facilitates their return to their countries of origin. Finally, IOM will also help strengthen national- and regional-level response to the vulnerabilities and needs of UMCs.

Phase VII of the project has been modified from previous phases to reflect recommendations from recent assessments and progress made in ongoing activities.  IOM will continue to place a strong emphasis on building the capacity of governments that have demonstrated their commitment to improving migration management at both the program and policy levels, while also increasing coordination with relevant stakeholders, such as the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and SADC.